Manipur’s N Biren Singh sworn in as CM !!!

Pi Bureau :



New Delhi : Putting full stop on 15 years of Congress regime in Manipur, BJP leader Nongthombam Biren Singh has sworn in as the new chief minister in Imphal today.

National People’s Party’s Y Joykumar Singh has sworn in as the new deputy chief minister at the Raj Bhawan in Imphal.

Manipur Governor Najma Heptulla had invited Singh, who was unanimously elected the leader of the 21-member BJP legislature party, to form the government.


This is the first time the BJP has come to power in the north-eastern state ending the nonstop congress regime of 15 years.

The invitation to Singh came after four members of the Naga People’s Front, an NDA ally, met the governor and extended their support to BJP for government formation.


Manipur threw up a hung verdict in the state assembly election. While Congress emerged as the single largest party with 28 seats, the BJP came in at second with 21 seats.

The saffron party, led by Biren Singh, was later on got support from NDA ally Naga People’s party seeking majority of 32 MLA’s in 60 member Assembly to form government.